VSA wins at Detroit’s D Show and helps make the G Show a success

VSA Partners scored the first win of the night at this year’s D Show, held on December 4 and coordinated by the Adcraft Club of Detroit’s D Council. VSA won in the category of “Consumer TV Over $75,000, Over :30,” for the Harley-Davidson commercial “Stereotypical Harley.”

The D Show is the Detroit area’s annual awards show recognizing the best work produced by local agencies. Now in its seventh year, it brought together more than 900 professionals from creative, media, entertainment and production companies at the historic Masonic Temple in downtown Detroit. VSA was nominated as a finalist in three categories—including “Consumer TV Campaign” and “Integrated Branding Campaign Under $250,000”—and was represented by our entire Detroit office, including Associate Partner and Executive Creative Director Jeff Cruz, and Associate Partner and Chief Collaboration Officer Don Peasley.

“These were our first D Show nominations and we were thrilled to be honored with a win,” said Peasley. “It’s always fantastic to see so many talented creative professionals from Detroit in the same room—it’s a reminder of how vibrant our city and community are.”

After the D Show, for the fifth year in a row, came the G Show, a tribute to George Katsarelas, a Detroit advertising community legend who passed away in 2009. The G Show was created to raise funds every year for a scholarship in Katsarelas’ name at Michigan State University, his alma mater, to help incoming generations of advertising students. This G Show featured the best fundraising event yet, with almost 300 attendees, and was co-sponsored by VSA.

Cruz served as one of the G Show scholarship founders and helped organize this year’s event. “George was my mentor and friend, and everyone in Detroit loved him, so the G Show is a big party where people can show their support and love for George. He cared about his people, Detroit and our local ad community. It’s up to guys like Don and me to do the same now. We were thrilled at the turnout for this year’s event, and we thank everyone who came out and helped us raise double what we did last year.”

Congratulations to the Detroit office on the win: Jeff Cruz, Jared Davis, Lisa Gildehaus, Lindsay Lewis, Albert Loera, Aidan McKiernan, Don Peasley, Jesse Rea, Amy Thompson and Crystal Trzok. Learn more about the D Show and follow the Adcraft Club of Detroit on Facebook to keep up with upcoming events and become involved.