AIGA Chicago Honors VSA’s Dana Arnett, Steve Ryan and Scott Theisen

AIGA Chicago recognized VSA’s CEO Dana Arnett, Design Lead Steve Ryan, and Creative Director Scott Theisen with two prestigious awards this past Saturday, March 14.

Dana, who has leveraged design as a business catalyst for VSA clients such as Harley-Davidson, IBM and Kraft received AIGA’s Fellow Award for a lifetime of design excellence. This national award is given to an individual who has contributed to the advancement of the graphic design profession, while continuously raising the standards of excellence in practice and conduct within their local or regional design community. Past recipients include University of Washington Professor Doug Wadden, Tomorrow Partners Founder and Chief Designer Gaby Brink, Studio Blue Partner Cheryl Towler Weese, among others.

“I’m honored and genuinely humbled to be recognized in the company of such esteemed past and present recipients,” Dana says. “AIGA, at the chapter and national level, has truly helped shape and positively influence my career.”

Steve Ryan and Scott Theisen received AIGA’s Above and Beyond Award for their commitment to the organization by encouraging, promoting and serving the design community in Chicago.

Scott has been an AIGA member for 14 years, holding seats on the board as treasurer and vice president. He’s helped rewrite bylaws, create budgetary surplus and track financial trends, and also initiated the Chicago chapter’s Corporate Design Leadership Award.

Steve joined AIGA in his college years. As vice president and, later, president of the Chicago chapter, he focused on challenging the standing conventions, taking a distinct interest in young, emerging talent. “It’s critical that we question and strengthen the relevance of [AIGA’s] content, that we start to focus more on the young talent in the community than we do on the well known names that represent the AIGA archives,” he says.

VSA is proud to have these three leaders recognized for their passion and commitment to design.